Article Image Alt Text

Thomas Hamaker receiving award.

Thomas Hamaker Receives 2019 R.E. Lee Wilson Award

JONESBORO – Thomas J. Hamaker of Hampton, who will graduate in May with a double major in finance and marketing from Arkansas State University’s Neil Griffin College of Business, was announced as the 2019 R.E. Lee Wilson Award winner, Thursday evening, at the Cooper Alumni Center on campus.

Hamaker was one of the six Distinguished Service Award winners eligible for the honor. The Wilson Award and DSA winners were introduced and recognized during the 86th student honors awards ceremony, the culminating event of the 41st annual Convocation of Scholars. The other five DSA winners are Landen Crancer of Rector; Oliver Dozier of Paragould; Jon Mark Horton of Jonesboro; Tanisha Tak of Ahmedabed, Gujarate, India; and Starr Taylor of Jonesboro.

The Wilson Award is named in honor of R.E. Lee Wilson, a Mississippi County planter and businessman who served on the institution’s Board of Trustees from 1917 until his death in 1933. The annual Wilson Award presentation began the following year, more than eight decades ago. For several years, Perry Wilson of Little Rock, greatgreat-grandson of R.E. Lee Wilson, has carried out the custom that calls for a descendent of the award’s namesake to make the presentation.



To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition

The South Arkansas Sun

Mailing Address:
PO Box 1183
Hampton, AR 71744

Phone: (870)798-3786
Fax: (870)798-2800